Hawaii Farmers Union United - Hana Chapter General Membership Meeting Minutes

Thursday, June 13, 2019 at Hana Farms

In attendance: Matt Van Paepeghem (P), Brad Taylor (VP), Scott Crawford (S), AJ Murray (T), Mikala Minn (D), Councilmember Shane Sinenci, Terry & Michael Kristiansen, Avi Elkayam, Tessa Moxley, Francine Frost, Bob Frost, Andrew Rayner, Paul Taylor, Martin Vasey, Chris Gaarder, Tom Bacon, Robert Beaudreaux, Teresa & Steve Allred, Jacob Williams, Heidi Lea, Carolyn Diliberto, David Yaeger, Brian Williams, Sam Akoi IV, Michele Notestone, Eric Gauge, Kyle Nakanelua, Phyllis Robinson, Dawn Lono, Lynette Kaohu, Chuck Estin, Claire Carroll, Joshua Roe, Cliff DeBenedetto, Kris Golinka, Samsara Gardens, Devon Stephenson, Chelsea Noel, Joshua Rilla, Randy & Susie Pisano

Open remarks by Mikala in honor of Kekai Mina and the Mina 'Ohana, and Josh Stearns and the Laulima 'Ohana; sympathy cards being circulated for everyone to sign.

Locavore potluck dinner shared

Chapter Business

• Farm Apprentice Mentor (FAM) presentations from East Maui participants

Phyllis Robinson gave an overview of the FAM program. Presentations we given by apprentices Tessa Moxley and AJ Murray, Brian Williams, and Avi Elkayam.

• Farmers market survey update

Scott gave a brief update on the results of the survey distributed at the Taro Festival and online: the feedback was overwhelmingly positive in support of a farmers market in Hana. Next steps will be to work out plan for location, timing, vendors, etc. Anyone interested in helping on the Farmers Market Committee please contact Matthew or Mikala.

• Councilmember Shane Sinenci – discussion of issues facing East Maui farmers

Councilmember Sinenci shared some updates on legislative matters including budget funding for FAM and HFUU Hana Chapters, as well as highlights of topics discussed at the food security panel at the Hawai'i State Association of Counties Annual Conference this week. He then took questions and comments from the members, on topics including farm worker housing, invasive species, and the planning process. He encouraged the members to work with the other chapters to identify issues in common, and to follow up by lobbying and providing testimony when the time comes. Motion by Robert/Brad to form a Legislative Policy Committee to follow up with recommendations to Environmental, Agricultural, and Cultural Preservation Committee; passed without objection; initial members of Committee are Brad Taylor (Chair), David Yaeger, Martin Vasey, Robert Boudreaux, Avi Elkayam, and Shane Sinenci.

Next Meeting

Board Meeting: Wednesday, July 3, 2019, 5:00 p.m. at Hana Farms General Meeting: Wednesday, August 7, 2019, 4:00 pm at Hana Farms

Meeting adjourned Minutes recorded by Scott Crawford